Default Interior Background

2021 Citizen of the Year Award nominations open Nov. 29

Posted on Friday November 26, 2021

Nominations for the 2021 Citizen of the Year Award open on Monday, Nov. 29. 

A panel of local residents, with the assistance of the City of Orillia, is accepting nominations for the 2021 Citizen of the Year. The deadline for nominations is 12 p.m. (noon) on Thursday, Jan. 6, 2022. Nominations must be submitted using the nomination form available online at, or from the Customer Service Desk located in the Orillia City Centre.  Submissions must include, the full name of, and contact information for the nominator and the nominee, as well as a detailed explanation of why the nominee deserves to be named Citizen of the Year. 

Nominees must be residents of Orillia, Chippewas of Rama First Nation, or the townships of Oro-Medonte, Ramara or Severn, who have contributed to the betterment of Orillia. Emphasis should be placed on the nominees' volunteerism and accomplishments during 2021. 

The 2021 Citizen of the Year panel includes former winners Steve Clarke (non-voting member), Michael Gordon, Fred Larsen, Stan Mathewson and Gill Tillmann, as well as Pure Country 106 Morning Host Carey Moran, Orillia Today reporter Frank Matys, and Heather Breckles, Kiwanis Club of Orillia President. 


Mayor Steve Clarke
City of Orillia

Jennifer Ruff
Director of Business Development and Communications
705-238-9209 (cell)